Aguada Fort, Goa
It derives its name from several fresh water springs ("Aguada" means 'water' in Portuguese) that existed on its site. For the ships that sailed from Portugal, it was the first stop after a long journey for fresh water supplies before moving inland. On the northern side, it provides a harbour for local shipping. The fort, at present, houses the central jail. A 19th century built lighthouse is situated inside the fortress.
Immediately south of Candolim, a long peninsula extends into the sea, bringing the seven-kilometre white sandy beach to an abrupt end. Aguada Fort, which crowns the rocky flattened top of the headland, is the best-preserved Portuguese bastion in Goa. Chapora Fort, Goa
22 km's. from Panaji. The fort is made of red laterite and was built by the Portuguese in 1617, on the site of an earlier Muslim structure (the name Chapora is the corruption of the word "Shahapura" or "Town of the Shah"). Since it was basically built as a border watch post, it was later deserted by the Portuguese in 1892, as the borders of its empire extended farther north (known as New Conquests). The massive ramparts and scattered Muslim tombstones are all that is left of this fort. One can still see the heads of the two tunnels, that formerly provided the supply routes for the besieged defenders.Corjuem Fort, Goa
This fort is situated 4km north of Pomburpa, alongside the Mapusa river near the village of Aldona. It was built in 1705 by the Portuguese. The fort has a rather interesting story. One Ursula e Lancastre, an ambitious Portuguese woman determined to succeed in a man's world, dressed like one and traveled the world. Eventually landing up here as a soldier. Terekhol Fort, Goa
This fort is situated on the northern bank of the Terekhol river. It was built by the Raja of Sawantwadi and was captured by the Portuguese Viceroy, Dom Pedro de Alameida in 1746.The church and the fort were rebuilt then. It was the site of a revolt led by the first Goan born Viceroy of Goa , Dr Bernardo Peres da Silva in 1825. He used it as a base for an armed revolt against the Portuguese but this attempt was crushed by the Portuguese forces. He never returned to Goa.Reis Magos Fort, Goa
It is situated on the south eastern extremity of the tablel and on the right bank of the Mandovi, in the province of Bardez, about two miles to the northeast of Fort Aguada. It was constructed in 1551by the Portuguese to guard the entrance to Goa at the narrowest part of the Mandovi river, enlarged subsequently on different occasions, and finally re-erected in 1707. Though far inferior in size to the fortress of Mormugao, yet standing on an eminence, its commands, splendid view around. It is in a good state of preservation, and is defended by 33 guns and accommodation for a small garrison. Towards the east, at a little distance from it, flows a spring with abundance of excellent water, while at its base rises the church of the Reis Magos, ascended by a beautiful flight of stairs. This edifice was built on the ruins of a pagoda in 1550 by the Franciscans, with the sum allotted to them by the Government, and bears a crown on its fa ade, and the royal arms on its sanctuary and other places. The pavement is dotted with inscriptions, the most important of which, found in the sanctuary, indicated the spot enclosing the remains of Dom Luis de Ata de, count of Athoughia, who twice held the position of Viceroy of Portuguese India and Goa. This Fort stands on the north bank of the Mandovi at Reis Magos, and is very much visible from the Panaji side of the Mandovi river. It was used as a residence for viceroys and later converted to a fortress. It was occupied briefly between 1798-1813 by the British army. It was subsequently abandoned by the military and served as a prison until recently.Ruins of the Fortress of Colvale goa
Standing on the northern frontier of Bardez, on the left bank of the Bardez River, this fortress was erected in 1681 by the court of Alvor as a barrier against the inroads of the Marathas and Bhonsles. It was taken by the Marathas in 1739, and later recaptured by the Marquis of Lourical on the 13th of June 1741, and had a small garrison, besides a regiment, posted about the same time in a convenient situation. The regiment was removed to Mapusa in 1841, while the Fortress, which had been abandoned and neglected a few years previously, went to ruin, and now presents only a few traces of its former might. Mormugao Fort in Goa
This fort near the internationally famous Marmagoa Harbour was built to protect the harbour situated near the Vasco da Gama town. Its work started in 1624. It covered an area of six miles in circumference, contained towering bulwarks, three magazines, five prisons, a chapel and quarters for the guard. It had 53 guns and a garrison with 4 officers, and was an important fortress on the western coast. Unfortunately, except the chapel and a portion of the boundary wall, little is left of this fort.